“Man on a Mission”

Yes I know. It’s been a while. I returned from Poland and Monaco two weeks ago, preached on the East Coast, flew into LA on Tuesday. Moved the next day into a new place in Malibu, had the ‘second’ Malibu Bible Study on Thursday, sold the van on Friday and celebrated Tori’s fourth birthday on Saturday.
PLUS we just had internet connected yesterday after an intense week of unpacking.

This last trip to Poland really embedded the power of focus in my life.
I met a man on a mission. It wasn’t me this time. It was Marvin Bridges. 78 year old Marvin Bridges. Traveling at breakneck speed through Poland. Pastor Mike Hendricks from Hailey, ID asked Marvin and his wife Diane, to come along and teach a small financial seminar to post-Communism Polish church leaders within a larger marriage conference.

I don’t know the extent of this man’s financial expertise and business acumen, but from a teacher and minister’s view point this man was unwaveringly focused on his purpose without allowing any room for distraction.This man was on a mission and nothing was going to get in his way.

If i am accurate in my assessment he knew the best way to portray a business ownership role was to give a viable business model. Not just teach theoretical business lessons. Find a need pertinent to our times, research how to do it and do it. Amazingly proverbial!
He chose wind energy. Pertinent to our times. Then he researched companies, products, placement, economic viability and longevity in view of product and employment possibilities.

Good business sense. Intelligent idea.Marvin was instilling in them the concept of business along with a practical demonstration of an idea from conception to national and personal profit with career potentials.

Which was highly instructional and promising.

But my observation of Marvin was more than a man teaching a seminar. Every time I tried to engage him in conversation he would refocus on his mission. He even regularly started sentences with “My mission…” He wouldn’t let go of his purpose, even with his words! We know the power of our words (Proverbs 18:21).

The Apostle Paul states in Philippians 3:14 “I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” The NLT says it this way, “I strain to reach the end of the race and receive the prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us up to heaven.”

What’s your mission? Is it the most prominent thing before you? I don’t think we are going to fulfill it unless like Marvin we get so focused that even daily conversations can’t interrupt our progress. I know, I know I can hear people saying this is out of balance. But didn’t even Jesus say “Seek [to seek after, seek for, aim at, strive after, to crave (Strong’s concordance)] first the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness…”

The last day, I was with the team as they were off to sight-see in Krakow, Poland. Marvin came down for breakfast with a revised written game plan he had handed out so others could fulfill their mission. He was mission minded all the way to the end. I’ve decided I want to be focused on the mission like Marvin Bridges.

~ by unisonharvest on September 6, 2008.

One Response to ““Man on a Mission””

  1. Thanks for the updates guys, keep em’ comin! FOCUS.

Leave a Reply

 
