Walking with God: Part 2

…And the sheep follow Him, for they know His voice. Jn 10:4b

A ministry friend had to cancel a youth camp due to unforseen circumstances and asked me to be the main speaker last minute.
I just happened to be in the region so it was perfect. They informed me that the denominations represented were a little more conservative than our camp, so “tone it down a little” to put it mildly. Tone it down a little is not normally in my vocabulary but I endeavored to cooperate.

The first two meetings were reasonable services. Simple sermons based on being ‘Connected’ and ‘If you love Me, keep My commandments’. Walking with Him. Putting Him first. Good Christian sermons.
I had nominal responses, these were denominational youth at a youth camp. Most, if not all were saved. Good Christian youth having a good time at Fall camp. They didn’t know me, had never heard about me. A guest speaker.

Several young people responded to commit to a deeper walk.

Provision along the Way
Then for my last service I began to tell them about driving my ’69 VW Karmann Ghia from Denver, CO to Tulsa, OK moving for Bible School.
While driving, I was talking to the Lord about my financial situation, realizing I could use more resources. I had just come from Hawaii, worked a little in Boulder, CO and bought the Ghia.I was pulling into town with a job offer. I had three months before school started but definitely in need of ‘daily bread’.
Driving through Cimarron, KS along I-70, the Lord told me to “Pull into that gas station and ask the lady at the counter for work”. I pulled in, went inside, got a cup of tea and sat down at one of the tables.

I sat there for two hours basically looking at the lady, trying to figure out how to do this. Finally I thought I might as well leave, so on my way out I’ll just ask her. When I did she stared at me in disbelief saying, “You’ve been sitting there for two hours and I’ve been calling all over town trying to find someone to help my husband. “You need to go over to my house and help him weed the front lawn.”
It turned out they were believers and supporters of the ministry and bible school I was headed to attend.They sent me off with an excellent days wages for four hours of labor.

A Little Recreation
Another time I was staying in Monaco for a couple of months with my youth group of One (that’s another story). Raphael my previous watersports boss from the Monte-Carlo Beach Hotel asked me to pick up some buoys from Beaulieu-sur-Mer. I was getting in the vehicle at about 9am when I again heard the voice of the Lord. “Put Your surfboard in the car,” He directed me. He wasn’t leading me to crash my car into the wall, just a simple instruction regarding my surfboard.

I drove the relatively short distance to Beaulieu and did my task. I figured I might as well drive a little further to Villefranche-sur-Mer and take a look at the water. I had heard about but never surfed the Mediterranean. Sure enough as I drove around the Bay there they were: head-high waves. I surfed with several people for a few hours. When I asked a frenchman who was catching the waves how long the swell would be here he responded, “7am-7pm, c’est tout, that’s it.”

Does He do that kind of stuff? Well He did it with me. I was there. Nobody can take that from me. Revelation 12:11, “And they overcame Him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony…”

Eternal hope for a young person
My last story, though certainly not the last revolves around a young man I’ll call Justin. Justin was about 15. He was a recipient in the Make-A-Wish Foundation. He had been diagnosed with Leukemia and his desire was to ski. A local news crew was assigned to follow his wish and part of his training was to ski on an indoor deck in Oklahoma. Get him prepared for the mountain in a more hospitable location. I was the instructor and during the lesson the voice of the Lord kept prompting me. “Tell him about Me.” But I was working, and I was the manager of the deck.
Again, my heart was beating out of my chest. “Tell him about Me.” Finally, exhausted by the lesson, Justin took a break. The news crew had gotten their shots and decided to exit. As I wrapped up the lesson at 8pm, I took my opportunity.

I explained to Justin and his father that although I was the manager this was my part-time job. My other job that I had trained for was my real job and there was no connection between the ski shop and me. I had now officially clocked out.

I had no idea what their reaction would be. But I had to follow the voice of the Shepherd. I asked Justin if he died if he knew where he would spend eternity. This was an extremely delicate situation considering the circumstances. I could just be an overzealous Bible School graduate.His father immediately shouted “Hallelujah!”. He responded by telling me Justin thought God was the author of this overwhelming challenge. I talked to Justin for a few minutes of God’s goodness and why Jesus was sent for us. I invited him to give his heart to the Lord. He declined but allowed me to pray for him.

As I finished up the last session of the youth camp I had noticed most of the 90 or so people had their arms folded, a not so positive body language response. I realised with some additional stories I was probably blowing their minds. “Yeah, right,” I could almost hear them say. I again closed the service asking who would like to develop a deeper walk with God, not to hear ‘A Voice’ per se, but to listen to the voice of the Shepherd.

At the closing of the service over fourty young people responded, including a youth pastor’s wife.
People really want to hear.

~ by unisonharvest on June 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “Walking with God: Part 2”

  1. Amen! That is so cool!

  2. Preach it Brother! This is the very kind of message that changed my life and has changed the lives of those we reach in the world. The Gospel is a message of HOPE!

Leave a Reply

 
