Riches Stored In Secret Places

By Heather Maust

I tend to be a back row seat person. It’s not that I’m not engaged, so much as I just feel most comfortable there. And let’s face it, when Pastor Scott rounds the two hour mark during the message, as much as I’m enjoying the amazing teaching, it’s nice to be able to sneak some snacks. lol ☺

But recently God told me I’m not allowed to sit in back anymore. I must sit up front. No more of this part way in, it’s time to go all the way in, He said. And here, in this simple act, is where I found why I can quote “Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart,” and yet keeping my heart in reserve, never actualize it.

So why the reserve? Why do we not fully engage? You know, bloom where we’re planted? I think we’ve become comfortable in the waiting; comfortable in the training; comfortable in the hope and anticipation of that great destiny to come, that great opportunity, that magnificent promise we’re believing God for, to show it’s face, collide with our path, and wow us with all it’s glory.

So everything in the interim is simply just a rest stop, a gas station, a playground, a school, a restaurant visit or grocery store, and unfortunately for some a hotel to get some shut eye. It is seemingly never your “moment of glory”.

But these ‘riches’ we’re looking for, these treasures we desire, God said they are stored in the darkness, in the secret places.

Isaiah 45:3 “And I will give you the treasures of darkness and hidden riches of secret places, that you may know that it is I, the Lord, the God of Israel, Who calls you by your name.”

Look at these definitions:

What is darkness? That which is obscure, that which is concealed, that which cannot be seen, that which is difficult to understand, threatening, or mysterious.

What is secret? Kept from the knowledge of; designed or working to escape notice, knowledge, or observation; beyond human understanding; hidden; concealed; a mystery; a reason or explanation not immediately or generally apparent.

What I’m realizing is that we miss our ‘riches’, because we’re looking for the riches on the surface, we never dive into the darkness and the secret places to mine them out. To do so will require your heart.

God put a new spin on the verse, “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also,” for me. If your treasure is in the same place as your heart, then I felt like God said where I put my heart in is where I will find my treasure.

Cliff Graham came to speak one Friday and he was talking about what our ‘hard saying’ is. What is the hard thing God might be asking of you? It is here that God exposed yet more of my pride. Do you know what made my ‘hard saying’ hard? It was that it didn’t appear to be that great of a calling compared to what I could come up with. Yep, there it is, my conceit with all its absentee glory.

Scripture says to live a life worthy of the calling you have received and yet so often we try to find a calling worthy of us! Hello! How can we possibly be the judge of what’s worthy if our pride has puffed us up and in reality, apart from Christ deserve only hell? How can we possible discern our riches when they are cloaked in humility and our pride cannot enter?

Yes, humility is the path to being exalted. Humility is what is faithful with the little that leads to the large. Humility is not put off by the darkness or the secret places.
Humility doesn’t need a shortcut.

Ruth picked up leftover crumbs before she was given the field. Joseph put his heart into the prison before he was put in the palace. David was in charge of sheep before he was in charge of a kingdom. Benaiah was mighty with a lion before he was one of David’s mighty men. Esther had to risk her life before she was able to save lives. And Jesus, well, He had to be the servant lamb before the He was the reigning lion.

Proverbs 25:2 says, “It is the glory of God to conceal a thing, but the glory of kings is to search it out.”

And we’re told in 1 Corinthians 4:8 “Already you have all you want! Already you have become rich! You have become kings… how I wish you really had become kings…”

So it’s time that we aren’t kings by name only, but that we truly become kings, that we search out that which is concealed, secret, and dark; and by putting our whole heart in, we might discover that what we’ve been wanting has been before us all along.

As Pastor Scott said, “Put your heart in and God will show you where to put your hands.”

So, as one of my favorite sayings says…

No retreat. No reserve. No regret.

~ by unisonharvest on February 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
